“Sunset” Chapter 5

                                                              The Thing Is

                            Jan 3                                                                       Chapter 5

                                                                    2:38

 

   It was dark, and raining, and I was about as depressed as the sky looked. I sat in front of the window staring sadly to nothing. Just like yesterday, but for a different reason. Joy asked me again, “What’s wrong?” and I told her I felt like I just lost my two only friends.

                                                                          25

   She gave me some “how to keep your friends speeches” that I just barely listened to. Because that’s not what I needed at that moment. I just needed to talk to Anavia, and Bora. I tried calling, and texting them but they didn’t call back. I might have not had a set family, but I still had a phone. I put the same phone on different families plans.

   “So those are the ways you keep your friends for the rest of your life!” Joy finished. “Thanks.” I said. “Your welcome!” Joy returned. She went in the kitchen to make some lunch.

 

                                                                     5:07

 

   Later that day I tried calling them both one more time, but neither of them picked up. I sat down, on my bed, and pulled out my sketchbook, that I got has a birthday present, given to me from the last family.

   Though I never grew up with a family, I somehow knew the date of my birthday. I don’t know if maybe when I was really young, I just made up my birth-date, but that’s what I grew up knowing, so November 16 is officially my birthday. 

    I drew a picture of a cat. T.B.H it was the ugliest cat I have ever seen. I wish I could draw.

                                                                   26
Jan 4, Thursday  1:27

 

   “Anavia, Bora, I’m right here remember.” I sadly whispered to myself. “Haa, this is hopeless.” I layed there on my belly, singing Moana, but instead of singing you’re welcome I was singing “What can I say except we’re dead soon.”

    honestly I don’t know if I’ve been sadder, and I’ve been pretty sad before. mostly when it’s been three months, and I haven’t eaten anything but, three fries, bread crust, from one half piece of bread, and something white, that I thought was a marshmallow, but now that I think about it, it was probably some lint.          

     Also, once I accidentally went in the wrong house, and had the worst things happen to me. But I’ll talk about that

later.  

     “Joy.” I said. “Why is talking to people, so hard?” I asked that question mostly because I just wanted to say something. I really didn’t want an answer. “Umm, well…. I’m not quite-” “you know what never mind.” I had to stop her right there. “They still haven’t texted you back?” asked Joy. “No.” I said back. “Well maybe there just busy.” She said back. “I guess.” I

said.

     Joy continued to talk. I was listening at first, but then I started thinking to myself. I was starting to think they weren’t really real people. That they were aliens that come to earth to do some research on humans. They would only talk to each person for a short time then move on to the next human.

                                                                    27

 

    That would explain why Joy didn’t know them, but that was just my crazy imagination getting away from me. Whenever anything would happen, I would make up a bid story, on how it happened, that makes no sense. My creative mind was…. crazy. 

                                                                       2:13

 “It calls me!” went of my ring tone. I rushed to my phone. I knew only two people could be calling me. I looked at my phone, and saw it was Mike. “Why is Mike calling me?” I couldn’t figure out why he was calling me. I picked up the phone, and answered.

  “Hello?” I said.

  “Libby is Joy there?” Mike said.

  “Yes, but-”

  “I need you to give the phone to her.”

  “Why-”

  “just give her the phone!”

  I heard fear in his voice. I had no idea what was wrong. But I knew it had to be very important, or serious, or scary. I ran into the kitchen, and gave the phone to Joy, as quick as I could. I told her it was important.

    “What?” Joy said almost Frustratedly. “What!” Joy said, with the same fear as Mike.

    I knew something was wrong. I was holding my breath, just waiting for someone to tell me something.

                                                                   28

   “What do you mean?” Joy ran upstairs, then in less than a second she was back down. “No! No! No!” she ran out the door, and told me to stay there. In less then two seconds she was pulling out the driveway……with my phone.  

    I sat on the couch for probably more than an hour, hoping everything was okay. I decided to get up, and to try to worry less. But instead I just started pasting back and forth. Again my crazy imagination was getting away from me. I couldn’t help but to think something terrible has happened.   

    “Ding-dong.” goes the doorbell. I quickly ran to the door, to see who it was. It was Anavia, Bora. for the first time I didn’t want to see them.

    “Oh it’s just y’all.” I said with disappointment. “실례합니다. (sillyehabnida.)” Said Bora. I had no idea what she said, but her body language said “Excuse me!” “Sorry.” I said back. “A lot has happened in so little time” “what’s going on?” Asked Anavia. “I don’t really know, but I know it’s really bad!” “Oh, umm, I’m so sorry!”  

    Bora, and Anavia could hear the fear in my voice. The same fear in Mikes, and Joy’s. Even if I had no idea what was happening, it was obvious that something was really bad.

                                                                        29

A word from Bora

 

  I had a lot less knowledge of what was going on than anybody else, but hearing Libby’s voice, made me terrified. Just like Libby, I thought it must be something awful.

     We all went inside the house, and Libby told us what all had happened. We were all scared of what might be going on. Libby started making up the worst possible things that could have happened. Anavia tried to calm her down, and stop her from having a panic attack.

    I sat there and said, “리비, 괜찮을거야. 괜찮을거야. (libi, gwaenchanh-eulgeoya. gwaenchanh-eulgeoya.) nobody knew what I was saying, but they got the message. We sat there for six to seven minutes, before I said, “얘들 아, (yaedeul a) or come on guys.”

  I wanted to get out of the sadness. I wanted to get all that thick air out. After a long, LONG, LONG time I finally got that. We were kind of happy again.

   Then, me, and Anavia, thought it was time to tell Libby the truth.      

                                                               30

 

  “Libby.” Anavia took a deep breath. “We have to tell you something. We have been friends for….sometime now. I know we are not the closest friends yet, and two of the four days we weren’t even talking to you, but that’s because we were talking about telling  you, and-” “Anavia, just let me speak.” interrupted Bora.

  “Libby, you were right, we did know your name when we first met you, and we…Anavia did call you by more than your first name.” Said Bora. “Yes! I knew it! Wait, what?” I said. “Libby, about five, or six years ago you, and your two parents, were visiting California, when the unexpected happened.” Anavia said. I just sat there listening, not knowing if I should believe what they say.

     “Your parents were, are the prince, and princess of a kingdom, on an island, called….Dara.” Said Bora. “which makes you a princess…too. Like we said before, they were in California, when somehow you got away from them.”

      “What do you mean somehow?” I asked.

      “We weren’t their when it happened. We are just telling you what your parents told everyone. And They didn’t give all the details. Anyway, your parents looked all over for you, but could not find you. They reported a missing child, but you were never found. After a long while, they went back to Dara, and told the news of there lost daughter.

                                                                    31
   People were still searching for you, and some people from Dara, and my home, Quadar, and Anavia’s home, Kyla, were sent here to look for you.” Bora said, as sure as ever.

     “Funny story, umm we, two, were supposed to stay home, but we went looking for you. Then we found you, and now we are telling you all this, and now look, we are all together, and you know the truth!” Said Anavia. “Anavia you didn’t have to tell her all that.” Said Bora. “well sorry.” Responded

Anavia.

      “Wait! So I’m a princess, who went missing, and who as parents that actually love me, and really want to see me!” I said with a smile. “Yes!” Said Anavia. “Haa! Wait, how do I know this isn’t another joke?” I asked.   

    “Because we have proof.” Said Anavia.

    Anavia pulled out a picture of what looked like me as a really little baby.

    “Here.” Anavia said. “Is this me?” I could tell that it did look a bit like me even if I was really young in the picture. Usually, people would look a lot different, when they were only a couple months, from what they look like now. But, somehow I could tell it was me.

                                                                     32

A word from Libby

 

   Wow! This was amazing. I couldn’t believe it. I mean when I first heard it, I thought it couldn’t be true. Be then they showed me that picture, then I was like, this has to be true. Then I was like, “how do I know this story is true?” Then they tried to explain a whole bunch of other stuff that made me think they were telling the truth.

     But still their were a couple of things that made me think they were stretching the truth. First: if I was so young when I was stolen, how did I survive this long. Did I live with whoever kidnapped me, then whoever, just let me go on my own. Then I was smart enough to go live on my own, or smart enough to go find someone else to live with.

     Another thing: they said that I was in California when they lost me, but the first memory that I have is of me in Utah. I know that because I specifically remember the lady saying I’m in Utah. Than I made my way to Nevada, when I was ten. I’ve only been living in California for a year or so.

      I don’t know why someone would kidnap me then take me all the way to Utah, then somehow I make my way back to California. But I didn’t really want to bring it up. The rest of the story made perfect sense. I figured that maybe… my parents didn’t tell the whole story to everyone, or something. Maybe they got the story just a little wrong, but they were still telling the truth.      

                                                                            33

Leave a comment